PALO ALTO, CA—In its ongoing effort to enrich the way people connect and interact, social media website Facebook introduced a new feature Monday that allows users to cancel their accounts. "To complement our recently overhauled interface—which now provides users with a real-time log of every single thing their friends are doing at any given moment—we've added a function that lets people delete their entire profile with the click of a button," said company spokesman Scott Wippold, describing how the change would bring "an exciting new level of user control" to Facebook. "It's a really cool feature we're happy to be offering for the very first time." The company later confirmed that account closures would not stop Facebook from continuing to acquire, permanently store, and sell all information about its current and former users until the day they die.